Data handling, Infographics and the National Curriculum

I’ve usually struggled to make practical sense of the National Curriculum in the area of Data Handling, I understand it but turning this into practical classroom activity is a struggle for me.  I believe that the creation of infographics represents interesting opportunities though I’ve yet to turn this idea into a lesson plan for students so I’m not quite there yet.

Clearly the business team at the Guardian newspaper have had similar thoughts and have now decided to create a separate department for just this.  Clearly making sense of Data is critical, interestingly at a careers fair I went to recently the students thought that Journalism had nothing to do with ICT – I wonder what their ICT lessons were like?

Article

The Guardian Datastore

image

How about this for nice example – how the government spends your money

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

