Users still unsafe online

A friend of mine received a ‘lottery winning’ email today and asked me if I thought it could be true and I didn’t feel I could say ‘no’ without checking carefully.  It just reminded me of how easy it is to be fooled by clever scammers.

This report from an American study says that undergraduates still fail to differentiate between genuine error messages and internet popups.  It just reminded me of the 1000s of times I’ve seen pupils click ‘OK’ or ‘Cancel’ in an error message without thinking.

I guess there is still some way to go with e-safety!

image

BBC Article

del.icio.us Tags: ,,,

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

